Frank Morgan - Major Changes

Frank Morgan - Major Changes
Styles: Bop, Hard Bop, Jazz Instrument, Saxophone Jazz
Recording Location: Clinton Recording Studio, New York, NY
Genre: Jazz
Recording Date: April 27, 1987 - April 29, 1987
Album: Major Changes
Release Date: April, 1987
Artist: Frank Morgan
Duration: 57:04

Although associated with bebop, altoist Frank Morgan emerged on records in 1985 as a forward-thinking soloist with a gradually evolving sound of his own (despite being in his early 50s). On this worthy set, he is joined by the McCoy Tyner Trio (which consists of the masterful pianist, bassist Avery Sharpe and drummer Louis Hayes) for mostly modern material. Tyner contributed three originals, including "Frank's Back," and the quartet also digs into "How Deep Is the Ocean," "Emily," "All the Things You Are," "So What" and even "Theme from Love Story." Morgan's lyricism works quite well with Tyner's powerful chords, and the results are consistently memorable.

Changes / McCoy TynerFrank Morgan5:10
How Deep Is the Ocean? / Irving BerlinFrank Morgan8:17
Emily / Johnny Mandel / Johnny MercerFrank Morgan4:21
Search for Peace / McCoy TynerFrank Morgan6:59
Frank's Back / McCoy TynerFrank Morgan6:09
All the Things You Are / Oscar Hammerstein II / Jerome KernFrank Morgan5:45
(Where Do I Begin) Love Story / Francis Lai / Carl SigmanFrank Morgan10:43
So What / Miles DavisFrank Morgan9:40

2018 Download MP3/FLAC Albums -